APL on Android

Let it all hang out

APL on Android

PostPosted by mohrsnh » Wed Jan 25, 2012 4:21 pm

Many years ago I learned APL as one of my first languages at IBM and I was then also able to use it with clients and could contribute to the move from Mainframes to PCs with APL. These days I am no longer programming but in IT management but as the hair gets more grey and thin and may be retirement gets closer (in a few years) I am thinking if I could perhaps do some programming with APL again on devices of today, e.g. a smart phone or a Tablet. Searching a little bit on Google and Wikipedia I could not really find something but found this Forum, so I registered and started posting...

Anybody there who likes the idea of having APL or APL2 on a tablet? Or even knows where something like this exists?

Regards, Karlheinz

mohrsnh

Re: APL on Android

PostPosted by FDA OSInet » Thu Nov 05, 2015 2:28 am

The (very) old IBM's TRYAPL2 has been ported to Android, can be loaded through Google Playstore, and looks indeed familiar when launched. However, because the lack of cursor keys, I have not been able to go further yet. The fixed-pitch fonts are however a bit unattractive today.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... id.tryapl2

However TRYAPL2, as far as I remember, came with a couple of very interesting workspaces, a goodie that :

1) would be welcome in NARS2000 (just to start with APL, or for simple things as reading/writing/sorting a file containing non-English characters

2) Would be a thing all of us could help to contribute, or try to.

3) Would a real plus as well for NARS2000, helping many more potential users to start. IBM had done something similar with its "APL handbook of techniques workspace" in the 1980's or so. Ref : Notice G320-6153, PDOM SH20-2170, The APL Handbook of Techniques S320-5996. and also :

APL HANDBOOK OF TECHNIQUES WORKSPACE 5796-PLP

This IUP provides users of VS APL with a machine-readable equivalent